Meet the 2016-17 Exec Board

There is still plenty of summer left, but your PRSSA exec board for the 2016-17 school year is already hard at work planning and preparing for a wonderful year of activities, events and experiences. We are so thankful and excited to have the opportunity to serve you as members and make this organization the best it can be. Please let us know if you have any recommendations, concerns or questions!

Learn a little bit about your new exec team and what has them most excited about this upcoming year in PRSSA:

Melanie Metzmanmelanie

Director of Alumni Engagement, mmetzman@umail.iu.edu

Bio: I am originally from New York City, and have loved writing since elementary school, so a major in Journalism was a natural choice for me. I have had diverse experiences with internships in PR and magazine publishing, and see a career in the magazine industry in my future. On a more personal note, I love chocolate, good books, and online shopping. I can’t wait to get involved with PRSSA this year as the Director of Alumni Engagement.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

Pizza parties

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

Building a stronger network between current student and alumni.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

House of Cards

Bailey BriscoeBailey-1

Co-Director of Communications, baibrisc@indiana.edu

Bio: As the Co-Director of Communications for the second year in a row, it’s obvious that I love all things social media. Most of my skills and experience fall into the realm of internal communications, and that is where my PR/communications interest lie. I was born and raised in small town Indiana, but I’ve spent my past two summers interning in Indianapolis. I fall more in love with the city every day and hope to start my PR journey there after graduating this year. When I’m not posting photos of my food on Instagram, I can be found browsing the pages of my favorite fashion blogs, watching too much Netflix or shopping. My PRSSA goal this year is to increase member engagement, and my personal goal is to cross more things off my IU bucket list.   

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My favorite part about PRSSA is the professional opportunities made available to members. My favorite so far has been the discussion panel with PR professionals from BCH in Indianapolis.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I hope to increase the opportunities for members and engage them more through social media!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

One Tree Hill (team Naley).

Kelsey HardingIMG_2850

Treasurer, kelmhard@umail.iu.edu

Bio: If I’m not busy balancing our books or slaving away in the J-school, you can catch me drinking yet another cup of coffee, staying up late to finish a mystery novel, and hysterically screaming in Assembly Hall. At work, I enjoy writing (preferably sarcastically), focusing on the big picture, and collaborating with other people. On the random occasions that I remember I can’t stay at IU forever, I like to think I’ll work in the PR and marketing world of Chicago, where I can spend my days happily eating deep dish pizza and cheering on the Cubs.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My favorite PRSSA memory is the annual Young PRos Panel – I love hearing from alumni who actually made it in The Big Scary Real World and can give us some advice on how we can get there, too.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

This year I’m looking forward to getting to know everyone in PRSSA by demanding money from them, and hopefully figuring out what field I’d like to work in with the help of some top-notch agency tours!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

Parks & Recreation – Jean-Ralphio is my spirit animal.

Allie HitchcockAllie Hitchcock

President, albhitch@umail.iu.edu

Bio: I remember hearing about PRSSA when I toured IU as a high school student. To be honest, I had no clue what PR really even was at the time. Fast forward to today, and I couldn’t imagine my college experience without PRSSA! It has allowed me opportunities to travel to Indianapolis, Chicago, Atlanta and Austin. It has helped me build life-long connections and friendships, and it has given me a tremendous boost in my understanding of this industry. After graduation, I would like to get some experience in agency work before transitioning into the nonprofit sector. In my free time, I love to travel, bake (and eat!!) desserts and spend time with my friends, family and pets. I am so excited for this year in PRSSA.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

Going to Atlanta for PRSSA National Conference last fall was a blast. Between giving a presentation to the National Committee and going salsa dancing with other members of our chapter, I left feeling closer than ever with the Beth Wood chapter and more understanding of PRSSA on a larger national level.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I can’t wait to build on the successes of last year’s exec board–lots of returning members but also so many fresh faces! It’ll be a great way to get a mix of ideas going. Also, as much as I’ll miss our beloved conference room in Ernie Pyle, I am SO EXCITED to settle in at Franklin Hall.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

I finished The Great British Baking Show a few months ago, but I can’t stop thinking about it. Go watch it. I never thought I’d be so moved by a reality baking show, but here I am.

Katie HogueKatie Hogue

Director of Public Relations, kkhogue@umail.iu.edu

Bio: When I am not working for PRSSA you are likely to find me reading a book under my covers or enjoying the great outdoors. I love to spend time hiking, kayaking, skiing, or even scuba diving. Anything that is active and involves nature is usually something I enjoy. I also consider myself to be somewhat of an ice cream connoisseur and am always searching out new flavors to try or new shops to visit. This year, as one of the Directors of Public Relations I am looking forward to increasing the Beth Wood Chapter’s prominence at the national PRSA level and improving my own press release writing skills.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

PRSSA’s holiday party! Not only do I get a break from finals, but I get to impress everyone with my cookie-decorating skills and reflect on all of the great things our we’ve accomplished during the semester as a chapter.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I am looking forward to meeting new members and getting to reconnect with old ones since I spent the past semester abroad in Spain. I can’t wait to see all of the exciting new things our chapter  will do!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

I actually don’t own a tv or netflix! I prefer reading, but the one show that I do watch is Game of Thrones. Read the books first of course!

Annie Theobaldimage1

Director of Publicity, anrytheo@umail.iu.edu

Bio: IU, dogs, music, brunch, friends, #fam, and exploring the world around me are just a few of my favorite things. I’m a huge fan of life, and making the absolute most out if it. With the skills I’m learning through the Media school, hard work, and a bit of humor, I plan on someday conquering the world!

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

Traveling to Atlanta, Georgia for the 2015 National Conference, and staying with my bidding team.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

Making big things happen for IUPRSSA

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

Parks and Rec

Caitlin Blackfordc93624da-2113-46fd-9e2d-7a0711a61111

Secretary/Historian, cairblac@umail.iu.edu

Bio: I was born and raised in Evansville, Ind. so therefore I have always been a true Indiana Hoosier. If I am not working for PRSSA, I am most likely sippin’ Starbucks on Krikwood or jammin’ to my favorite songs at a country music concert. I also love to travel and explore all the beautiful places that the world has to offer, especially if there is a beach. I love the sand and surf, and I like to think that in another life I would have been a mermaid!

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My very first agency tour to Hirons is hands down my favorite memory because it really solidified for me the fact that I wanted to work in PR and had finally found the perfect career for myself.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I am most looking forward to meeting all the new members and working with the new clients for the arts and entertainment committee!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

Gilmore Girls (can’t wait for the Netflix revival)

Carrie LatimerCarrie

Co-Director of Communications, carlatim@umail.iu.edu

Bio: I enjoy Mexican food, petting strangers’ dogs and working out. When I’m not staring at a computer in the Media School Communications office, I’m helping brides find their dream dresses at David’s Bridal. I think I am the only person in the entire PR/communications industry without a caffeine addiction. Sometimes I try to be funny on Twitter (@812carrie).

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My favorite PRSSA memory is going to the 2015 National Conference in Atlanta. I had so much fun rooming with the other members of the national conference bid team and watching the “Sorry” music video fifty times a day.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I’m looking forward to the national conference this fall in Indy. We all have so much fun when we travel together and Indy is one of my favorite places.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

The Office

Nicole Johnson13179449_1084027931639624_1302616863228408367_n

Co-Director of Public Relations, nicejohn@umail.iu.edu

Bio: Hello! My name is Nicole and I am a junior at Indiana University. I’m from Chicago, and love hiking, traveling, writing and kayaking! Although I am relatively new to PRSSA (this will be my second year on the committee), I am so excited to be a part of the amazing group and I cannot wait play a part in helping it become the best it has ever been!

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

Working with other members on the Fashion Committee!

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

Getting the word out about PRSSA to get more students involved, helping to organize events and workshops to prepare members for future jobs and internships, and getting to know my fellow committee members better!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

Game of Thrones/ Gossip Girl

Anna Faginanna-fagin

Co-Director of Programming and Professional Development, aefagin@umail.iu.edu

Bio: Who I Am: Storyteller: Passionate about the written word. Persuader: Rhetoric is my middle name. Brainstormer: Let’s share ideas. World Traveler: 11 countries = A world lens. Volunteer: Passionate about social issues. Hip Hop Dancer: My outlet. Seeking: A chance to be the voice to a community, to tell the story of an organization, to determine the best ways to get the audience’s attention, and to motivate that audience to feel or act.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

This past year I attended the photography workshop and loved getting to take pictures around the campus without the stress of a class or deadline. It was a really fun way to grow my skill set. Plus, there were snacks and any memory with snacks is a good one!

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

Next year I’m really looking forward to planning some awesome events that take a creative spin on traditional workshops. I’m also looking forward to getting to know the incoming executive board! We have an awesome team for next year.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

How I Met Your Mother

Benjamin HoustonIMG_2602

Vice President, bkhousto@umail.iu.edu

Bio: I’m a avid follower of politics and news in the U.S. and globally and love discussions about them. When I’m not doing school related things, I’m probably working or hanging out with friends and doing nerdy stuff like playing video games or talking about movies way more in-depth than the average person. My favorite movie is Jurassic Park, but The Godfather Part 2 is a close second.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My favorite time in PRSSA so far has been going to the national conference and meeting other members from school all across the state. I also learned a lot about simply being professional and working in a real environment.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

This year I’m looking forward to going to the national conference again but this time it’s in my hometown of Indianapolis so I’ll get to experience the city with people visiting for the first time.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

The West Wing

Kelly MorganAAEAAQAAAAAAAAVxAAAAJGI1MGQyYjUwLTNkZjQtNDk0MS04OTdmLWE2YWRhMzQ3N2Y3ZQ

Co-Director of Programming and Professional Development, morgkell@umail.iu.edu

Bio:Outside of school and work you can catch me snap chatting, playing golf, heading to Barre 3, and being a professional dog walker for my 10 pound little dog.  I love looking up new recipes and attempting to make them.  I also secretly love watching dramatic Lifetime movies with my mom.

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

My favorite PRSSA memory would be being told that I would be an officer.  The past officers have offered me great advice and guidance that I too want to pass along to current and future members.

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I am looking forward to a year filled with many PRSSA events, fun and educational, that help PRSSA members with their future careers.

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

House of Cards, Blacklist, How to Get Away with Murder

Megan GorskyIMG_2641 (1)-1

Director of Membership, mgorsky@umail.iu.edu

Bio: For some people, coffee is what gets them through the day, but for me it’s chocolate. I am constantly quoting movies and will break out into song at the most random times. Reality television and boybands are my ultimate guilty pleasure, but I’m still not ashamed. I am obsessed with anything and everything about weddings, hence my love for event planning. My love for reading and writing grows day by day and I can’t wait to spend this year learning more!

What is your favorite PRSSA memory?

End of the year Exec. Board dinner

What are you looking forward to about PRSSA this year?

I’m looking forward to National Conference in Indy this year and getting to know new members!

What’s your favorite Netflix/tv show?

Friday Night Lights, Entourage, Nashville

Leave a Reply

