Summer 2015 Update: Marah Harbison

Marah Harbison – IU Media School, Communications Intern
linkedintwitter

I have been the communications assistant for The Media School at IU since January 2015. This summer I have been responsible for producing the majority of the content on the news page of the school’s website, drafting press releases, editing the journalism alumni magazine and any other tasks as needed.

image-2For the web, I have been writing news stories about exciting events happening in The Media School. I thought summer would be somewhat relaxed, but I’m constantly busy covering a wide variety of events. I’ve written about a game development camp, the High School Journalism Institute and countless achievements by faculty. I also was able to draft a press release about the re-accreditation of IU’s journalism program.
image
The best part about my job are the people I get to interact with. My bosses are some of the best teachers I’ve ever had and have so much faith in me. Every day I am talking on the phone or meeting with students, faculty and alumni that are doing amazing work and are passionate about the same things I am passionate about. Next week, I am having lunch with an alumni who wrote a book with Larry King and was a producer on Larry King Live! I know I would never have had that opportunity without this job.
Marah Harbison is a senior at Indiana University, majoring in Journalism with a specialization in Public Relations. She will also earn a certificate in Arts Management from the School of Public and Environmental Affairs. Marah is the Director of Public Relations for PRSSA and served on the “One Day in April” committee last year.
Leave a Reply

