Summer 2015 Update: Alexa Tupper

Alexa Tupper – Villing & Company Intern.
linkedintwitter

The word agency always seemed cool to me. It reminded me of spy networks and secret agents and James Bond. While working at an integrated marketing agency lacks the undercover missions and explosions, it’s just as exciting.

IMG_2846As an intern here at Villing & Company Marketing Communications, I assist with PR and marketing services. One of our biggest clients is McDonald’s, so a big part of what I do is related to French fries and McDonald’s muffins — shameless plug, go try one! In addition, I write blogs, conduct client research and attend client functions.

My favorite part of my internship has been an outreach initiative called “Muffin Mondays.” My fellow interns and I spitball ideas to increase awareness of McDonald’s muffins and we came up with a campaign idea where we take muffins to local leaders in the community. We took the first batch to a fire station two weeks ago, and it has showed me that simple acts of kindness (and warm muffins) go a long way.

The ability to give back to the community, while also advancing your client’s mission is the reason that I love public relations. You get the best of both worlds, where you can see the difference you’re making as you work for the client as well. I’ve learned so much in my short two months of being at Villing & Company, and I look forward to applying my knowledge and newly acquired skills to my position in the PRSSA.

Alexa Tupper is a junior hailing from South Bend, Indiana. She is majoring in Journalism with Specializations in Public Relations and Advertising with minors in Marketing and Spanish. She currently serves as Secretary and Treasurer for IU PRSSA!

Leave a Reply

