Summer 2015 Update: Tori Lawhorn

Tori Lawhorn – Indiana University Press, Marketing and Publicity Intern.
twitter linkedin

This summer, I am interning at Indiana University Press as their marketing and publicity intern. Indiana University Press is IU’s internal publishing house, specializing in academic publishing. They produce approximately 140 new books annually, in addition to 27 journals, and maintain a backlist of some 2,000 titles. IUP is internationally recognized, specifically for its books specializing in humanities, and is one of the largest public university presses, as measured by titles and income level.

I work under both the electronic marketing manager and the trade marketing and publicity manager.IMG_7419

My daily tasks are always different, which is something I very much enjoy. Usually when I come in, I have emails waiting for me that will tell me what I need to get done for that day.

As of now, my internship has involved an abundance of different tasks, including but not limited to, graphic design, videography, writing press releases, reading manuscripts, writing questions for author questionnaires, researching media outlets, and pitching journalists.

One of my bigger projects involved researching reviewers to pitch for our Winter 2016 books to be featured in the New York Review of Books, a semi-monthly magazine that features books of all different topics. With this, I had to pair our books with a reviewer that has already written about a similar topic.

Lately, I’ve been working on a series of press releases that cover the multiple, recent awards our authors have won, including Foreword Reviews’ INDIEFAB Awards, the IPPY Awards, and the Indiana Authors Award. The IUP publicity team plans to distribute these press releases to various Indiana media outlets.

I’ve also been working on IUP’s crowd-sourcing book, Undeniably Indiana. We’re currently seeking submissions from people who have experienced anything odd, weird, unusual, or fun while living in Indiana. Our previous submissions include one woman’s experience growing up in a part of Indiana known as “The Region,” and the urban myth of the haunted Barbee Hotel in Warsaw, Ind.

In addition to going through submissions for the book, I’ve also been pitching local media outlets, gaining coverage in the Indiana Review and the Dubois County Herald, and designing advertisements to be placed on local Indiana travel websites.

I really like my internship because not only is it giving me great portfolio pieces, but I’m also exercising a vast amount of different skills that will all come in handy when I begin my career as a public relations professional.

Tori Lawhorn is a senior at Indiana University dual majoring in communication and culture and journalism with a specialization in public relations and advertising. She also has a minor in psychology. She currently serves as the Director of Alumni Engagement for IU PRSSA, and served as its president for the 2014-2015 school year.

Leave a Reply

