Student Spotlight: Ashlan Peterson

Ashlan Peterson
Journalism major with concentrations in Public Relations and Marketing.
Other campus involvement: Social Media, Webpage, and Philanthropy Chairwoman for the Gamma Phi Beta Sorority
Past internships: Interned with the Indiana State Fair Commission’s Public Relations Department last summer in Indianapolis.

Photo provided by Ashlan Peterson.
Photo provided by Ashlan Peterson.

Career goals:
I’m still really exploring all my options. I’m interested in positions involving advertising and marketing, along with PR. Ideally I would like to intern with an agency in the future because I have already tried my hand at in-house PR. Right now I’m looking to get as much experience as I can so that one day I will be a well rounded professional!

Describe yourself:
Even as a journalism major I always find that the hardest thing to write about is myself! I’m a small-town, Indiana native who grew up on a grain farm a little over an hour outside of Bloomington. I’m pretty much a “basic” girl who likes her Starbucks, Netflix and Snapchat as much as anyone else. I like to think I’m easygoing and am always up for anything fun and adventurous!

What are you looking forward to with PRSSA?:
As the year is quickly coming to an end, I am just looking forward to getting as much out of IU PRSSA that I can by attending workshops and events!


Contact Ashlan
linkedintwitter

Leave a Reply

