Student Spotlight: Kathryn Vance

Kathryn is an active member of IU PRSSA who has attended all professional development events with great enthusiasm. She is also a member of the Miss IU committee.

Kathryn Vance, Junior.

Journalism and Gender Studies major, with a Marketing minor.
Other campus involvement: IU Office of Admissions
Past and current internships: I’ve not had an internship in the past, but I have done some informal  marketing and advertising for a consignment shop in my hometown. Currently, I am the social media and marketing intern for a short film that is being made in Bloomington. The film is called Stardust & Moonbeams and aims to look at the way that Hollywood and the media portray gender inequality. I think it’s going to be really interesting and I can’t wait to start shooting in February!

Photo provided by Kathryn Vance
Photo provided by Kathryn Vance

Career goals: In a perfect world, I would love to work in fashion PR. I don’t always have the budget to show that I am in love with fashion, but believe it or not, I really do. Working for a fashion line somewhere overseas would be incredible. However, I know that I’m too much of a homebody for that. After graduating I hope to get a PR job in an agency. I like the idea of having several clients, rather than just one if I were to work in a corporate setting. My hometown is right across the Ohio River from Louisville, Kentucky and I would love to stay local. I’d really be open to staying anywhere in the Midwest, though. New York is an absolutely incredible city, but I think I’m better off visiting than living there.

Describe yourself: As much as I hate talking about myself, I’ll give this one a shot. Like I said before, I’m a homebody and I feel most comfortable when I’m with familiar friends and family. At the same time, I love meeting new people and hearing their stories. I’m a sucker for rom-coms and a good Netflix marathon. I’d rather have two inches of snow on the ground than 95 degree weather. I love country music, but I also have a special place in my heart for rap (I’m looking at you, Kendrick Lamar). I feel weird talking about myself, and it feels like this could turn into a dating website profile really quickly so I’m going to wrap this up.
What are you looking forward to with PRSSA?: I am really looking forward to getting involved more with different committees and workshops. Unfortunately, I drug my feet the past two years, and I didn’t participate in events often. This year I am excited to meet new people and understand the PR world more. It’s amazing what a group of students can do, so I’m looking forward to seeing what changes we can make to the IU and Bloomington communities.

Contact Kathryn

linkedintwitter

Leave a comment