Summer 2014 Internship Update: Katie Bosler

Katie Bosler, Special Olympics Indiana Communications Intern.
linkedin

After switching my major to Journalism during the fall semester of last year, I decided I wanted to explore the public relations field with a summer internship. I interviewed with Special Olympics Indiana during Thanksgiving break, and was excited to find out that I had the opportunity to be their Communications Intern this summer.

DSCN0921For my first experience in the communications field, I was extremely pleased and found my work exciting and interesting. I served under the PR and Communications Manager, who was able to introduce me to many new things, such as writing press releases for Special Olympics Indiana’s big events, such as the Summer Games, the FedEx Plane Pull, the Charity Golf Outing, the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Games, and many more. I wrote feature stories for the monthly newsletter, which highlighted athletes and volunteers who have made a difference through Special Olympics.

I also posted and updated Special Olympics Indiana’s Facebook and Twitter pages multiple times a day, and connected with thousands of people by doing this. I even had the opportunity to provide photography support at the major events. Some of my photos have been featured on the website, the newsletters, and the Facebook and Twitter pages. Another great experience I had was being a media contact for the Summer Games, which gave me first-hand experience with communicating directly with reporters and their crews.

I have learned much more about the world of communications this summer with Special Olympics Indiana. It has been a great experience to work with the athletes, who I have so much admiration for. Special Olympics Indiana serves over 10,000 children and adults with intellectual disabilities throughout Indiana. I am so grateful for the opportunity, and I can’t wait to continue exploring the field of public relations.

Katie Bosler is now a junior at Indiana University, majoring in Journalism with a concentration in Public Relations and Advertising. She currently serves on the Give 4 Good committee for IU PRSSA, as well as the Indiana University Dance Marathon, Logistics Committee.

Leave a Reply

