Half Day With A Pro

Courtney Stiehl (in the middle) at Borshoff with her Half Day With A Pro group.

I spent my half day with a pro at Borshoff, a strategic, creative PR agency in downtown Indy. I was instantly met with friendliness from PRSSA members from other chapters, and Borshoff had coffee and donuts waiting in the conference room. My host, Kassie Mills, arranged professionals from different facets of the agency to speak with us for insight on how the team works together. Experts in community relations, account management and event planning explained how they create integrated campaigns. What surprised me was how heavily the agency relied on innovative graphic design, and the creative work was the best I’ve seen. The pros said they back their strategies with effective logos, pamphlets and websites to reinforce a cohesive message and enhance their clients’ brands. Every aspect of Borshoff fit together, and the values-driven agency is itself a memorable brand. Mills finished the half day giving us practical advice on how to get hired, reinforcing what I’ve learned about the importance of experience, strong portfolios and interviewing skills. I attended the luncheon afterwards to continue my break from the norm and inside the world of PR professionals. I’m fortunate for both the experience and opportunity to network with the talented PR pros. It was an attractive glimpse into agency life.

By Courtney Stiehl

Leave a Reply

